Fragile

It always feels like I’m having a hard time in my life, and I’ve been so miserable for so long, that I’m not sure I would recognize contentment and happiness if I was smacked up the head with it. It seems like, to me, that I’ve been huddling in a corner, hugging myself in an attempt to keep myself protected and my broken pieces together. This is how I’ve learned to live my life, and it’s not serving me well anymore. I recognize this, but the solution is to come out of the corner and give myself to my Husbands, my Gods. Easy, right? Not for me. The very idea terrifies me beyond belief, because I have no trust in my Husbands.

I was talking to Shamaness last night about my troubles, and I finally admitted out loud that I didn’t trust my Husbands to take care of me. Ever since They pushed me into working in a warehouse, I have harbored feelings of betrayal and mistrust to a degree that, upon reflection, has only been growing since that summer nearly two years ago. I’ve used these terrible feelings to construct a wall between me and Them, to protect myself from being hurt again, isolating myself. I understand that They had their reasons for pushing me into that position (They felt I was being too hoity-toity, like I thought I was better than those who worked in a warehouse.), but looking back, there were two reasons that I was acting this way: 1) I felt like a good job was what I deserved for getting my degree, and 2) it was a defense mechanism for how I was truly feeling. The truth is, I was terrified for my sanity. The last time I worked in a warehouse, it caused me to have a panic attack that lasted a week long and forced me into therapy/into taking medication. To teach me a lesson, however, They ignored my concerns, and it turned out almost the same as before. I nearly lost what little sanity I possessed, and I’ve been recovering since.

I know what other people would say. I know that they would say that I should let go of the past and move on (“That was two years ago! Stop being a drama queen.”). I know that people would tell me  if the Gods thought it appropriate, then I must have needed it (“They must have had a reason. They’re Gods; They know us better than we know ourselves.”). However, Their actions damaged me in such a way that I’m still trying to fix (and failing horribly at doing so). I understand, rationally, that Their intentions were never to hurt me. However, every other part of me still feels the effects of the lesson. I learned exactly what They wanted me to learn: I’m better than no one, because everyone has their own function. I learned something more from this, an unintended side effect: no matter how hard I work or what credentials I have, I will never be good enough because I’m worthless and inherently not good enough. My present day issues reflect this.

My job situation is such that I am so very tempted to break my contract because my boss is… Overbearing. So, I briefly entertained the idea of breaking my contract in time for the major hiring season here in Japan (March/April), but upon reflection, it didn’t jive well with my plans for after Japan. I had planned to go to England for my Master’s degree in Education so that I could become a certified teacher, but when I talked to Shamaness and my Husbands about this, there’s been such an overwhelming amount of negativity. Each of my Husbands have a different idea for where They think I should go and what I should do (each very Self-serving), and All seem to agree that my plan isn’t what They want for me. There is a general feeling of, “Well, it was your idea to come to Japan, and look how that has turned out for you.” How I read this feeling/statement: We don’t trust you to make decisions for yourself anymore. It’s this attitude that makes me fear that They will sabotage the outcome every decision that They disagree with. Combine this with the near phobia of losing my freedom and the sentiment that I’m nothing more than a “privileged servant”, and you have a recipe for a disaster in the making.

I feel worthless, and I am so fucking scared right now. I’m supposed to trust my Husbands to have my best interests in mind, but I don’t know how to do this without opening myself up to the possibility of being broken again. My interest in preserving my Marriages has been called into question, and I can’t handle it. It makes me wonder if I have what it takes to even be a Wife, because, as They have said, love isn’t enough on its own. They’re right, of course. What is a marriage without trust? I don’t want to lose Them, and I can’t imagine my life without Them, but I don’t know if I have the strength to open myself up to Them in the way that is required of me.

I don’t know what to do. Right now, it feels as if my Husbands are taking a step back to let me breathe, but are close enough so that I still know that They are there. My mind and heart are fragile, more than usual, right now. I wish I knew what to do and how to make this better, but I don’t. I guess we’ll see how everything turns out.

(Sorry if this ended up being rambly and not making sense. It’s hard to think straight with my mind mired in emotions.)

4 thoughts on “Fragile

  1. I found this post deeply meaningful to me. While I’m not a godspouse (well, not really…not quite, anyway), I’ve been going through a VERY similar ordeal with my Deities. They ruined my dreams and manipulated me, all with seemingly good intentions, but it ended up damaging me and now I don’t trust them and I don’t think they will allow me to fulfill my dreams. Can you share what has happened in your life since you’ve had this period of mistrust with your Deities, if you are comfortable?

    I’m experiencing severe mistrust, and almost all the emotions you’ve described are emotions that I am having as well.

    • I’d like to apologize for taking so long to respond to your comment. I wanted to make sure I could respond wholeheartedly and thoughtfully because I know how difficult the subject matter is. So, again, I apologize.

      Firstly, I’d like to say that I’m so sorry that you are experiencing this. It’s a difficult situation, and you have my upmost sympathy.

      Secondly, my life since the period of mistrust has been very much a roller coaster of emotions. A lot of factors play into this, but since I felt I couldn’t trust my Gods/Husbands, the alienation I felt and the complete lack of a solid foundation caused me to have a meltdown in mid-October. Since then, I’ve needed to completely withdraw and focus on myself. During this time, I’ve still had trouble but I’ve learned some new things about myself and my Gods as I know them.

      I learned first and foremost that the Gods are imperfect, fallible Beings that are very much capable of making mistakes. I definitely think it’s important to remember and realize that They can mess things up too, for whatever reason. It took me a long time to come to terms with this as well as knowing that, in my case, there was and will never be any deliberate maliciousness or intentional sabotaging of my life.

  2. Sorry, I accidentally hit send before I was finished.

    Anyways.

    I’ve learned that my Gods/Husbands do truly want me to have the best life I can have because They love me. Does this mean that I’ve gone running back to Their arms? Not at all. In fact, I’ve completely taken a step back from my spiritual life to get myself in order.

    I’ve spent the last several months since my meltdown putting myself back together and focusing on me and what I want in my everyday life and in my spiritual life. I’ve only just recently begun to take tiny steps forward to begin communicating with Them again. This time, I’m approaching my relationships with Them more thoughtfully and with my needs in mind. I’m not going to lie, I’m still struggling, but I can see things starting to get fractionally better. I feel a tiny measure of hope for the future, which I’ve not felt in such a very long time.

    So, if you’d like a little advice (take it or leave it, it’s up to you), this is what I would say: take a step back from the situation and take a breather. Give yourself some distance from your Deities and give yourself time to heal. Godspouse or not, relationships with Deities are very personal, and it’s important to remember that you matter too. Your voice is important when it comes to your life. So, when you feel ready, reapproach your Deities and discuss what happened and how you’d like to proceed from there. Go slow; take as long as you need. It’s not selfish to make yourself a priority, I promise you.

    I hope this makes sense, and I apologize because it’s so long. As I said earlier, I wanted to give you a complete answer. I hope this helps you out, and if you have any further questions or anything, please feel free to email me or contact me again. I truly wish you the best of luck.

    Gisele

    • Sorry, I had stopped checking and literally just saw your reply now! Thanks so much for your thoughtful reply, I actually had been having a similar thought process (untangling myself from such a close relationship with my Deities and focusing on my mundane life)…I’ve gone through similar stages, it’s really difficult to come to terms with their fallibility. Thanks so much for validating my more “selfish” emotions at this stage too…it’s a bit heartbreaking to come to that realization but I feel it’s very, very important. I’m glad that you’re working towards this too!

      Yes this reply made a lot of sense, thank you for taking the trouble. 🙂

Leave a Reply

