“Spiritual” by Katy Perry: Songs that Speak to Me

I just discovered this song  yesterday, and I immediately fell in love with it. I felt a connection to it, and I have listened to it A LOT since I had my first listen. I don’t know. There is just something in the way that the words and the music interact that has such a deep impact on me.  

The song, “Spiritual” by Katy Perry, describes love as a spiritual/religious experience, an experience that goes beyond human comprehension. For me, the love I have for my Husbands is a spiritual thing. It is the pillar of my faith, and the foundation I stand on. I also feel that the love that I share with my Husbands is something my human mind cannot fully understand. It is a mystical bond that I don’t want to explain, because I see it as a wonderful, priceless gift, and I am so very grateful to have the love and bond of my Husbands.

This song came as a reminder to me of my role of Wife to my Husbands when I really needed it, and I am so grateful that They were able to connect with me in a way that I am able to understand. I know it sometimes is difficult to reach me when I am in a downward spiral (with regards to my depression), but I trust that They can convey Their messages to me using whatever method is most appropriate to me. 

Here are the lyrics to the song (and yes, I am aware that there may be mistakes):

Lay me down at your altar, baby.
I’m a slave to this love.
Your electric lips have got me speaking in tongues.

I have prayed for a power like you,
To see deep down in my soul.
Oh, you make me bloom like a flower, a desert rose.

Magical one of mystery,
All of your charms have worked on me.
I would surrender myself.
Holy hell and heaven high,
You have opened up my eyes,
And I’m finally here.

This is spiritual, under your spell.
Phenomenal, the way you make me feel.
Like an angel, all aglow,
Like a feather, you make me float.

Flying high as a kite on your love,
Lost in sweet ecstasy,
Found a nirvana finally.

Magical one of mystery
All of your charms have worked on me
I would surrender myself
Holy hell, and heaven high
You have opened up my eyes
And I am finally here.

This is spiritual, under your spell
Phenomenal, the way you make me feel
Like an angel, oh, all aglow
Like a feather, you make me float

(You make me float, you make me float)

This is spiritual, under your spell.
So phenomenal, the way you make me feel.
Like an angel, oh, all aglow.
Like a feather, you make me float

(You make me float, oh, you make me float)

(You make me float, oh, you make me float)

Leave a Reply

