My Holidays

So, I have been a Pagan for almost two years now, and I still have yet to make a holiday schedule in honor of my Gods. There are a million reason as to why this is, but it has been a terribly difficult two years for me. However, since I am on “vacation” between jobs, I have been thinking about bigger ways to honor my Gods and my people, which means I have made tentative plans on holidays for myself, in addition to anniversaries and such. Here is what I have been thinking about:

1) New Year: One very big Shinto tradition is the tradition of going to a shrine for New Year in order to ask for favor in the new year. It is also customary to do go through the house and do major cleaning (not unlike Spring cleaning) to symbolically clean up the previous year’s dirt in order to have a clean slate for the new year. One part I intend to add to this for my own benefit is to ritually clean myself so I, too, may have a clean start.

2) Beltane/May Day

3) Midsummer/Summer Solstice

4) Obon: This holiday is the Japanese holiday that celebrates/honors the familial dead. Since my practice involves working with the dead, I would like to use this holiday to honor those that are not only my familial dead, but also the spirits I am Queen over (<===more on this later). 

5) Halloween/Day of the Dead: This is to honor Baron and the Ghede. This will also serve as my Paganniversay as well.

6) Yule/Christmas

So far, this is all I have, and it’s not totally fleshed out just yet, but when I know more about how the Gods wish me to celebrate in addition to what I can do for these holidays (I feel pretty limited by being in Japan, to be honest), I will write it here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

