Changing of the Guard

Yesterday, while I was in the shower (which is my usual time for communing with Mama Oshun), I received some very unexpected and abrupt news: Oshun will no longer be my Patron, and that Sigyn will take Her place. She told me that it was time for me to move on, and that She had other work that She needed to do, but that She would still be my mother and help me in the ways that She had been before. I was told that I would not hear from Her for the next few months. Then, I watched Her walk away. Sigyn was there to comfort me and get me through the worst of the shock, which I am sure was the intent.

Needless to say, I am still a little upset, not that Sigyn is my new Patron, but that I didn’t feel ready to have Oshun leave me. She told me from the beginning that She would only be with me for a short amount of time. However, I was not sure what a “short amount of time” meant to Her (or the Gods in general). When I think about it, taking my feelings out of the situation, the timing does makes sense. I have been gaining confidence in myself as a woman and as a Wife, and I have begun to feel the changes within myself as I become more aware of who I am, who I am to become, and my own potential/my own Path. Yet, through all of this, I guess I didn’t realize that in gaining these things that I would endure more difficult changes. The light in the darkness of the situation is that I’ve been reassured that Oshun will still be my Mama on the Other Side (the only Mother I will ever truly have), which makes the ache ease quite a bit.

Odin was kind enough to give me a break from my lessons yesterday so that I could come to terms with my new situation, and now I suspect to drive home the fact that I am part of His family.  (This was was something He told me in one of my lessons this past weekend.) I also suspect (and by suspect I mean it’s Odin which means it’s probably true) that this was a lesson on how I need to learn to trust Them as my family, that They can be for me what Oshun was.

Anyways, so this is my long-winded update about the changing of the Guard and my further acceptance into Odin’s family. The times they are a’changin’.

Leave a Reply

